RSS

The celebration yesterday…

13 Feb

It was the celebration for Chinese New Year yesterday in my School. We could wear our own home clothes and I was like SO EXCITED!!!! Our principal, Dr. Hon, arrived at the hall! Everyone stood up and offered their respect to him and we sat down after that. He was sitting on the chair beside my class! What an honour! ( though we were sitting on the floor.) The worse thing is that my legs went numb after sitting there for almost like exactly two hours!!!

We started the celebration in the hall as we watched the performance of Lion Dance performed by Wushu Club. No offence, I serously hate the deafening noise from the drums during the Lion Dance. Well, the seniors had put in a lot of effort in putting up this performance for juniors like us. Some time later, the performers controlling the Lion’s head threw some vegetables at us which I do not know what they were. I supposed they were lettuce as they smelt like one of course!

After the Lion Dance performance was a musical performance put up by the Chinese Orchestra. The music was very pleasant to listen to and helped me to relax but did not relax my numbed legs. After the WONDERFUL PERFORMANCE put up the the Chinese Orchestra, there was a Wushu performance. The students were doing all kinds of quite dangerous stunts and somersaults in front of the whole school. It was quite interesting and I would like to thank them for putting up such a nice show!

Later, the “caishenye” (财神爷) came in from the hall entrance with some golden wrapped chocolates and threw them high up in the air to us. I did not catch anything though but i got some lettuce. The chocolates were thrown quite far away from me, so I could not catch them. Then, some teachers sing along the Chinese New Year songs and one of the teachers pretended to be “Auntie Lucy”. The most funniest part of all was the “so embarrassing”.

The performance ended when our principal and other teachers pull off some party poppers and some of us went back to our Primary School after that. What an ENJOYABLE DAY yesterday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “The celebration yesterday…

  1. Gregory

    February 17, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    It looked like I had missed a lot for the school’s Chinese New Year. Too bad for me then…

     
  2. Lam Sze Tung

    February 19, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Wow , you actually managed to remember the details about the concert ! As for me, I think that the music was too loud and was busy covering my ears ! Personally , though , I still can’t wait for the next Chinese New Year !

    Happy New Year to everyone here !! =)

    Lam Sze Tung

     
  3. Jack Tan (07)

    February 26, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    I do not really like hearing the loud drums of the lion dance troupe as my ears are quite sensitive to loud noises. I prefer soft and soothing noises so I decided to learn the piano. I loved the part when the so called “God of Forture” enters the room, throwing “golden” coins(chocolate coins) into the crowd. The part when “Aunty Lucy” came in was hilarious too especially when the teacher speaks in an “Auntie Lucy” accented way.

    Jack(07) 1O3

     

Leave a Reply

 
